The ICEST Conference appears to succeed a series of conferences started from 1963 at the Technical University of Sofia, Bulgaria, under the name “Day of the Radio”. In 1977 the name of the Conference was changed to “Communication, electronic and computer systems”. At the initiative of the Dean of the Faculty of Communications and Communication Technologies, Prof. Rumen Arnaudov in 2000 it grew into international conference in partnership with the Technical Faculty of the “St. Kl. Ohridski” University in Bitola and with co-chair Prof. Cvetko Mitrovski. In 2001, the conference was held in Macedonia under the name EIST (Energy and Information Systems and Technologies). Later, in 2002 the conference was joined by the Faculty of Electronic Engineering at the University of Niš, co-chaired by Prof. Bratislav Milovanović. Once more, the Conference changed its name to ICEST (International Scientific Conference on Information, Communication and Energy Systems and Technologies) and was held in Serbia.

Since then, on a rotational principle, the conference has been organized by the Faculty of Telecommunications, Technical University of Sofia, Bulgaria, the Faculty of Electronic Engineering, University of Niš, Serbia, and the Faculty of Technical Sciences, “St. Kliment Ohridski ” University, Bitola, Macedonia.

From 2014 on, chairman of the conference from Bulgarian side is Assoc. Prof. Kalin Dimitrov.

This year host of the ICEST conference is the Faculty of Telecommunications, Technical University of Sofia, Bulgaria.